Ever since venturing overseas to teach, I’ve been bombarded with this single epic question: how can I do it too? The information I’m about to give only applies to teaching overseas and more importantly it’s only useful if you have a teaching degree from an accredited university as well as being state certified. I don’t know how to go about teaching English as I taught in American and International schools in the primary grades.

If you’re serious and meet the above requirements, the next step is to register with a recruiting company. The earlier the better. I registered late and hustled to get all of my information collected and sent off. Don’t be like me. The early bird does catch the worm. It also allows schools to review your files and possibly contact you before the job fair starts. That’s how I landed my job in Beijing. I knew someone, who knew someone and I flew to Beijing and never had to go to a job fair. If this will be your first time teaching overseas, then you will most likely have to go to a job fair.

Check out this link for the Recruiting Fair Schedule.

As you can see there are many recruiting fairs held around the world. Some of the recruiting agencies require an up front fee and some only require you to pay a fee if you accept a position with a school. At the end of the day, the ones featured in the link are highly reputable. Google the recruiting agencies and decide which one you’d like to stick with. That too will make your life easier.

And there you have it. Now you know everything there is to landing a teaching job overseas. Happy hunting!!

